Laissez les bons temps rouler—New Orleans

IMG_7252This past weekend, I spent time in the city where jazz was born for my beautiful cousin’s wedding. New Orleans, Louisiana— land of quaint cobblestone streets, charming French design influences, amazing food, fantastic music, drinks on drinks on drinks and constant celebration.

I was amazed by the lack of open container laws with signs boasting “no bottles or glass allowed on street, all drinks may IMG_7264be in plastic containers.” It’s almost like being in Amsterdam actually. Bourbon Street, even during the day, is like a nonstop party. Leftover Mardi Gras beads dangle from the sides of balconies and trees and Jell-O shots, “Hurricanes” and “Court Liquors” are promoted everywhere. I even got to experience the Oyster Jubilee on Bourbon Street where each restaurant took part in making a giant Po-Boy all made on one large roll.IMG_7261

Which brings me to the food, I could not stop eating in NOLA! Shrimp and grits, jambalaya, muffuletta, po boys, beignets it was all just so delicious! In fact, I consumed a muffuletta and a craw fish po boy all before 11am one day. Another fantastic New Orleans food find was Zapp’s Voodoo flavored chips that were gifted in a wedding favor in our hotel room. I made sure to purchase a large bag for myself in the airport before I returned home.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The art galleries and antique shops on Royal Street are so endearing and Jackson Square holds a historic charm as well. The street artists and performers reminded me a lot of Paris and other European cities and I loved watching all the IMG_7268magicians in the land of VooDoo. The many street tarot card readers and psychics keep the eerie air alive in Nawlins.

We visited MarieLaveau’s House of Voodoo, which is taken very seriously as a spiritual belief. There is an altar where guests can leave “sacrifice pieces” and many voodoo dolls hanging from above. No photos are even allowed inside. This is serious business for some in New Orleans.

My cousin’s wedding took place at The Court of Two Sisters. A location adorned with an old cobblestone courtyard (not the greatest for high heels) and a tree canopy filled with beautiful twinkly lights. The ceremony was beautiful and ended in the happiest Second Line celebration.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Second Line at my cousin’s wedding will go down in my book as one of the happiest moments in my memory. The bride and groom’s closest friends and family followed them in a parade through the streets of New Orleans led by a classic brass band. Onlookers applauded and cheered and took photos and videos as we paraded by and waved handkerchiefs in celebration.

It was a beautiful wedding followed by a beautiful reception into the chill of a New Orleans March night.

IMG_7302Overall, I was taken by the city of New Orleans. The classic Southern traditions that remain are truly captivating. The lively atmosphere and highly cultural environment is hard not to fall in love with. And as the New Orleanians say—laissez le bons temps rouler!

Leave a comment